Alabama State LBoard of Prosthetists and Orthotists

Mastectomy Fitter Overview:

Carefully read these instructions and Board rules governing the practice of mastectomy
fitters in Alabama before completing the application.

Fines and Penalties:

Those who are not licensed in the appropriate time period are practicing without a
license and subject to a fine of up to ($1,000.00) one thousand dollars per violation and
are subject to imprisonment for up to six months per violation, or both, by the Board in a
disciplinary action or by a court of competent jurisdiction in the State of Alabama.

Those found guilty of the Act for unprofessional conduct or other violations shall be
subject to disciplinary action and the penalties and fines stated above.

Application Procedures:

An application will only be processed and presented to the Alabama State Board of
Prosthetists and Orthotists for licensure consideration if it is printed or typed in black
ink, if all blanks are complete on the application and all required documentation and
fees have been received by the Board office.

Should a section or question not apply, write “N/A” in that blank or section.

The applicant shall be notified of any deficiency in the application and informed of the
time in which the deficiency must be corrected. If the deficiency is not timely corrected,
the application shall be considered denied for lack of compliance.

All forms must have original signatures. NO EXCEPTIONS.

Fees must accompany the application and may be paid by personal or business check,
money order, or cashier's check made payable to the Alabama State Board of
Prosthetists and Orthotists. DO NOT SEND CASH.

All application fees are nonrefundable.
All documents become a permanent part of your Board file and cannot be returned.

Completed applications are reviewed according to the date received.

Changes to information submitted on any application must be reported immediately to
the Board office. Failure to do so could result in the denial of the application or
revocation of licensure.

Carefully read the Licensure Requirements.

Note: Allow four to five weeks for processing from the day your application is mailed,
even if mailed via overnight delivery. An incomplete application will not be processed
until all required fees and documentation are received. You will be notified by mail
should your application contain deficiencies.



Alabama State LBoard of Progthetists and Orthotists

Application Checklist

o General Information. Following submission of the application, it is the
responsibility of the applicant to notify the state board of any change in
name or address.

o Educational Qualifications. Applicants are required to submit a
photocopy of a high school diploma/transcript, GED diploma, or a
college/university transcript(s).

o Fitter Education Certificate(s). Applicants are required to submit a
photocopy of the official certificate of completion from a NCOPE
approved mastectomy fitter education program or proof of completion
of an NCOPE approved mastectomy fitter education program.

o Application Fee ($175.00). The application fee is non-refundable and
required of all applicants.

o License Fee ($125.00).



Alabama State Woard of Prosthetists and Orthotists
P.O. Box 1052

Montgomery, Alabama 36101

rezellll3@aol.com
apob.alabama.gov
Phone: 334-420-1111

General Application for
Magtectomy Fitter Licensure

General Information

Full Name:

(When you are licensed, your license will be printed as indicated above)

Social Security Number

Date of Birth (mm/dd/yy) / /

Home Address:

City State Zip

Place of Employment:

Work Address:

City State Zip

Office Number () Home Number ( )

Office Fax Number () E-mail Address



mailto:rezell113@aol.com�

Questionnaire

Answer all of the following questions with either “yes” or “no.” Do not leave any
blanks. “Yes” answers must be accompanied by an Affidavit ﬁa sworn statement in
the presence of a notary public). The affidavit must include all pertinent information
such as explanations, dates, addresses, employers, physicians, institutions,
agencies, and hospitals. The Board may request additional information.

a. Have you ever been charged or found guilty of uncprofessional or unethical
conduct in civil or administrative law proceedings”

Yes No

b. If you answered “yes” to question a, were the charges settled before or during a

formal hearing?
Yes No

c. Are there any currently pending investigations against you or your company?
Yes No

d. Has a Iicensin?, registration, or certification authority taken disciplinary action
against you relating to the ﬁractlce of mastectomy, or have been excluded from
any federal and/or 3™ party health insurance program?

Yes No

e. During the last five ?/ears, have you been diagnosed or hospitalized for any

physical or mental illness, or injury that would impair your ability to safely practice

as a mastectomy fitter?
Yes No

f. Have you ever had any professional license or certification denied, probated,
suspended, or revoked?
Yes No
g. Have you ever practiced with a revoked, suspended, expired, or inactive

license?
Yes No

h. Have you ever been convicted of any crime excluding minor traffic offenses?

Yes No

I. Have you ever been treated for any alcohol or substance abuse?

Yes No

)



Educational Qualifications

(Applicants MUST possess a high school diploma, a GED, or a college degree and satisfy the
mastectomy fitter educational qualifications. A copy of the high school diploma/transcript,
GED, or college degree/transcript must be included with the application.)

Please select from the following NCOPE approved mastectomy fitter education
programs. A copy of the program certificate(s) or proof of completion must be
included with the application.

Airway Jodee
American Breast Care Nearly Me
Amoena Trulife
______ Other
Program Location Date(s)

Mastectomy Fitter Experience

Applicants must have a minimum of 500 hours of mastectomy fitting experience.
This experience must be specific to fitting breast prostheses and mastectomy
products and services.

Please indicate the time-frame you are using for the 500 hours of required
patient care experience. The experience may occur prior to or following the
mastectomy fitter education program cited above.

From: (mm/dd/yy) / / To: (mm/dd/yy) / /
Name of Facility Supervisor

Address
City State Zip

(3)



Statement and Affidavit of Applicant

I, testify under oath that | am the person referred to in the application and supporting
documentation, and that the photograph attached is a photograph of me.

| authorize all my references, educational institutions, employers, hospitals, business or professional organizations and associates,
past and present, and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal) to release to the Alabama Board of
Prosthetists and Orthotists any information requested concerning the processing of this application. | understand that it is my duty
and responsibility as an applicant to supplement my application when any material changes in circumstances or conditions occur
which might affect the Board’s decision concerning my eligibility for licensure.

If required by the licensure category under which | applied, | agree to sit for the State examination(s). | also agree that | must pass
any required examination(s) to receive my license.

| further agree that if issued a license, upon the revocation, suspension, or cancellation of that license, | shall return the license to
the Board.

| understand that | must observe and comply with all applicable statues and rules set forth in the provisions of the Orthotists and
Prosthetists Act, and that | am responsible for keeping the Board informed of my current mailing address at all times. | understand
that | am responsible for renewing my license, whether or not | receive a renewal notice.

Under penalties of perjury, | declare and affirm that the statements made in the application, including accompanying statements and
transcripts, are true, complete and correct. | understand that providing any false or misleading information in or concerning my
application may be cause for denial of loss of licensure.

Signature of Applicant Date Signed

THE STATE OF

COUNTY OF

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, on this day personally appeared
known to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to this instrument, and having been by me first sworn an
oath, acknowledged that he or she had executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed and
that all statements are true and correct.

GIVEN under my hand and seal of office, this day of ,
Notary Public in and for County, or
Signature of Notary Seal of Notary

Fee: Enclose the attached payment remittance and the accurate fee amount.

Mail to: Alabama State Board of Prosthetists and Orthotists
P.O. Box 1052
Montgomery AL 36101-1052

Please allow 4 to 5 weeks for processing from the day your application is mailed, even if you mailed it overnight.
Incomplete application will not be processed until all required fees and documents are received.

ATTACH
PHOTOGRAPH
HERE




Fee:

Fully complete the form provided below. The Payment remittance and fees must
accompany the application and other required documents to be deemed complete.
The application fee is nonrefundable. Should licensure be denied, full payment
of other fees will be refunded.

Schedule of Fees:

Non-refundable Application Fee $175

Licensed Mastectomy Fitter Fee $125

Payment Remittance

Name:
Address:
Application Fee:
Licensure Fee:
Total Amount Enclosed:

Alabama State Board of Prosthetists and Orthotists
P.O. Box 1052
Montgomery, AL 36101

Revision May 2010 (5)
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